LOVE CHILD (Part 7)

“What a pleasant surprise!” Temi stepped out and hugged Tobe.

“Indeed! Indeed, Temi” Tobe was smiling from ear to ear “I was actually looking for someone who lives in this neighborhood but I’m very excited to have stumbled upon you. It’s been a very very very long time.”

“Yes. A long time indeed! The last time we saw each other was during the period of our National Youth Service before I got news about my mum’s illness.”

Tobe interjected “That’s right. I’m so sorry. When I learnt that you lost your mum, I tried reaching out to you but it was impossible. I could not get any contact or address, nothing at all.”

Temi and Tobe chattered away as they were so excited to see each other after a long time.

“Can I come in at least?”

“Forgive my manners, please. I was just overjoyed.”

Temi gave Mma’s father, Tobe, a cue to come into her two-bedroom apartment. It was quite small but tidy. One of the rooms was used as a bedroom, while the other as the sitting room. The furniture in the sitting room looked old and a bit worn out.

Tobe perused the nook and cranny of the house in bewilderment and excitement.

Tobe heaved a sigh and smiled “Wow! I still can’t believe it!”

“Me neither.” Temi smiled “What may I offer you? at least to celebrate this coincidental ‘August visit’.”

“Water will be just fine. I’ve had a really rough day.”

“Give me some seconds. I’ll be right back.”

Temi went into the adjoining room and poured out water into a jug. She set the jug and a tumbler on a tray, walked into the sitting room and placed it on a stool beside Tobe.

“There you have it. Fresh clean water.”

“Thank you so much.”

“You are welcome. So, how have you been? Where have you been? What have you been up to? I don’t even know what to say.”

Temi reeled out one question after another.

“My! My! My! Too many questions” Tobe laughed “So which one of them do you want me to answer first?”

Temi laughed hysterically, admiring Tobe from head to toe “It’s been almost thirty years and you’ve not changed a bit. The choice is yours. Decide where to begin.”

Tobe took a deep breath and exhaled slowly.

“Okay…a lot of things have happened in my life after NYSC. First of all, I am now a Christian- I mean a real Christian; I have received Jesus into my heart.

I am working with the Federal Airport Authority- FAAN. They offered me a job about a year after Youth Service.

I am married and I have a daughter.

Believe me, this is just a very brief summary of everything that has happened in my life.” Tobe smiled “So, what have you been up to?”

Temi rolled her eyes “Well, I am a secondary school teacher. I teach at….”

Their lively discussion was interrupted when the doorknob turned and the door yanked opened.

Tobe turned around to catch a glimpse of the person at the door. Immediately, they made eye contact, he sprang up to his feet.

“That’s the imbecile I have been looking for!” Tobe pounced on Nkem “Idiot! Bastard! Fatherless child! Son of a whore! You want to ruin my daughter’s life. I will kill you today!” Tobe grabbed Nkem at the neck and pinned him to the ground, almost strangling him. Nkem struggled, chocked and gasped for breath.

Seeing the commotion, Temi jumped at Tobe, trying to pull away his hands from Nkem’s neck but to no avail. Tobe’s grip was too firm.

…to be continued.

Zizywrites©

Leave a comment